Apps

What does Restrict Mean on Instagram?

Instagram is a very well-known social media platform, and it grabs the attraction of the public on a large scale with its exciting and amazing features. Recently, Instagram’s active users in the world have been billions.

Instagram is testing a brand-new profile banner that shows users upcoming live streaming! Didn’t you understand it, though? So let me explain.

With the new profile banner functionality, users can add a badge to their profile indicating that they have an impending live broadcast. By clicking the banner, followers can subscribe and receive notifications about the live stream.

Users will also be able to schedule numerous live streams concurrently. If several live broadcasts are scheduled, a side-scrolling list will show up. Yes, it’s fascinating.

Let’s heed towards the main topic.

What does Restrict Means on Instagram?

On Instagram, restricting someone means ignoring them without letteing them know.

Restriction means “somtetimg in limited or small amount”.

On Instagram, restrictions mean that you give limited or restricted access to someone for your Instagram account, and he can not have access to all the things on your account but have access only to limited options that you have allowed.

For example, if you limit or restrict someone, they will have a limited ability to see your account, u.e. they will not be able to see your messages or comments, or they can see you but cannot engage or communicate with you. It’s all because you have restricted their access to your account without letting them know about it.

Fairly speaking, it’s a very good thing to restrict someone rather than block them, as when you block someone, it lets the other person know that you have blocked him or her because when they search your account, your account is not accessible to them. Still, when you restrict them, they will not have any idea about their restriction on your account.

If you want to avoid someone for the time being, then blocking them is useful for you but restricting them is a one-time event.

How to Restrict Someone on Instagram?

How to Restrict Someone on Instagram?

If you want to restrict someone from accessing your account, then you must know how to do that.

Just follow the steps below if you want to restrict someone from your Instagram account.

  • Open the updated version of your Instagram app.
  • Open the person’s profile whom you want to restrict.
  • After that, tap on the menu button at the top right corner of your screen.
  • There you will two options, block or restrict. Click on “restrict”.
  • Then Instagram will inform you that the user is restricted.
  • If you want to get extra information, then tap on the “Learn more” option.
  • If you want to return to their profile, click “Dismiss”.

This is how to restrict someone. If you have a question about how to unrestrcit someone, you must follow the same steps mentioned above and tap on the Unrestrict button, and here you go!

How to restrict Someone On Instagram via Direct Messaging?

If you want to restrict someone on Instagram via Direct Messaging, then follow the steps below;

  • Open your Instagram app.
  • Go to the top right corner of your screen and tap on the Messenger or Direct Messages icon.
  • After that, you will see all the contact of your Direct messages.
  • Select the chat of the person you want to restrict.
  • Then, on the top right corner of your screen, tap the person’s name.
  • Then scroll your screen, and there you will see, Restrict” at the bottom. Tap on it.

How to Restrict Someone through a Comment?

You can also restrict someone through a comment if you don’t want that person to see your comment section, then you can restrict him from there. For that, you should know the steps to do that.

Just follow the steps below;

  • Open any of your posts.
  • Then open the comment section below the post from the drop-down menu.
  • If you are using an Android device, then hold the comment for a while, but if you are an iOS user, then swipe left over the comment.
  • There you’ll see an exclamation mark. Tap on it.
  • There restrict the person you have chosen by clicking on the restrict option.

If you want someone to unrestrcit from your comments, then follow the same steps mentioned above and in the last step, tap on “unrestrict” except of restrict and here you go!

If the person you have restricted is in a group with you, then you will get a notification that you can view that person’s messages or anything he sends to the group. Then it’s all up to you whether to view them or not.

Moving Chat from Inbox to the Message Requests

Another very significant thing about Instagram is that the person with whom you chat casually or you have a very limited chat with that person. That person will be moved from your DM section or inbox to the message requests.  The messages you receive from the persons you have restricted will be moved to the message requests.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

What does it look like when someone restricts you on Instagram?

You cannot know whether someone has restricted you or not because everything is the same. You can still view that person’s profile photo and his stories, feeds, posts, etc. But when someone blocks you, it’s very obvious as you cannot see his profile photo and you cannot view his posts, stores and feeds; hence restricting someone is not obvious while blocking someone is a very obvious case.

What is the difference between restricted and blocked on Instagram?

When you have blocked someone, he cannot access you and cannot see your profile or any other posts, story or fee,d however, when you restrict someone, he has access to your account, but that access is limited. He can still view your stories, profile and feeds.

Can restricted accounts see your story?

Yes, the restricted accounts are able to see your story because restricting is limiting one’s abilities to approach your account, but that person is still able to view your feed, stories and photos.

Can a restricted person see your posts?

Yes, restricted persons can see your posts as they are able to view your stories.

Can restricted accounts see your followers?

Restricting someone does not have any effect on your Instagram account’s followers list. He is able to see your followers list, and as well as he can see the people, you are following.

Can you stop someone from seeing your posts without blocking them on Instagram?

No, there’s no such method till now to stop someone from viewing your post without blocking them on Instagram. But still, you can go to the settings of your posts and hide your posts from that person by selecting only the person you want to show the post.

How do you search on Picuki?

If you want to search on Picuki, then follow the steps below;

  • Enter your username. It may be your name or the word you want to enter.
  • Click on the View button, or you can also access the Quick search results.
  • Then watch and save photos, videos etc. There you can watch everything anonymously and download anything without letting anyone know.

Conclusion

In this topic, we have discussed what does restrict means on Instagram and what happens when we restrict someone. We have also elaborated the steps in detail that how you can restrict someone i.e. limit their abilities to access your account, and how you can restrict them from direct messages and also from the comment section.

elioverbey

Elioverbey is a Hillman professor of information science and human-machine emeritus at Carnegie Mellon University. Elioverbey has a broad interest in design technology and social effects, spanning from computer-based teamwork and computer-assisted collaborative research to human-robot interaction.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button